Wild Cards!

Currently I’m taking an online card class from Online Card Classes. The class is called Wild Card and it explores taking card making to another level beyond just opening a sentiment card. It will touch on 3D, movement, pop-ups, shakers and gift giving cards.

The most fun card to make so far in the class has been from the Day 2 class. It involved creating a slider mechanism to side part of the card element over to another. As always, I created a helpful tool with my Cricut Explore by having it cut out the slider part of the card. (file here).

Materials used:

  • Lawn Fawn Stitched hillside borders
  • Sunny Studio Sunny Snippits
  • Tim Holtz sentiments

A card they had us make on day 4 was something I’ve not thought of yet. It was taking a standard shaker card and turning it into a water filled shaker card. After watching Kelly Marie’s fabulous how-to video, I decided to try it on my own with materials I had on hand for a change :).

I didn’t have any small baggies like she was using so I decided to use my We R Memory Keeper’s Photo Sleeve Fuser. I took a photo sleeve, fused almost all the way around, filled it with sequins & water, then finished fusing it. through trial and error, I ended up using the pointed end of the fuser to secure the edges enough to keep the water in. Then I used my Cricut Explore to create a card with a circle cut in it, a babies rattle and the sentiment.

Materials used:

  • We R Memory Keepers Photo Sleeve fuser
  • Cricut Explore
  • Multi-color sequins.

babycard


Another creation in this class, I chose the card that Kristina gave us called Magic Slider Card, on day two. Of course I have to change and edit a few things as I create my own version but the style is the same. The premise is that you create a card with a cut out, stamp an image inside that you color brightly, then re-stamp on the outside where you color with more muted colors. You then create a pull tab that is covered with acetate film, when pulled, shows the colored area inside with a sentiment.

Materials I used were:

  • 80 lb Neenah Bristol White card stock
  • Colored pencils
  • Memento tuxedo black and red ink for stamping
  • Heartfelt Creations Sun Kissed Fleur Swirls stamp
  • Foam tape & adhesive

**Also… Kristina gave us a nice template to cut from, but… since I have a Cricut Explore cutting machine, I made myself a file that I can use to cut it all out. I also welded some of the pieces together to help simplify things. Here is a link to my file if you have an Explore: File Here

hiddencolor-card-dbl

One thought on “Wild Cards!

Leave a Reply

